Democritus University of Thrace




Democritus University of Thrace (DUTH) was established by Legislative Decree No. 87 of 27 July 1973, and started operating during the academic year 1974-1975. The University is currently operating eight Schools and nineteen Departments in four cities of Thrace (Greece). Relying on the quality of teaching and research level, DUTH has secured a place among the best Greek Universities. DUTH covers a wide area of expertise involving engineering, IT, environment, law, medicine, social sciences and humanities, life sciences, education etc. DUTH has participated/ is currently participating in several EU-funded programmes, such as FP7 actions: (27; of which 4 are MSCA), H2020 actions: (11; two of which are MSCAs), Jean Monnet Chair: (1), Life actions: (2), Erasmus+ actions: (3) etc. Furthermore, the University is also participating in several transnational and national projects.